pactree man page

pactree — package dependency tree viewer


pactree [options] package


Pactree produces a dependency tree for a package.

By default, a tree-like output is generated, but with the --graph option, a Graphviz description is generated.


-a, --ascii
Use ASCII characters for tree formatting. By default, pactree will use Unicode line drawing characters if it is able to detect that the locale supports them.
-b, --dbpath
Specify an alternative database location.
-c, --color
Colorize output.
-d, --depth <num>
Limits the number of levels of dependency to show. A zero means show the named package only, one shows the packages that are directly required.
-g, --graph
Generate a Graphviz description. If this option is given, the --color and --linear options are ignored.
-h, --help
Output syntax and command-line options.
-l, --linear
Prints package names at the start of each line, one per line.
-r, --reverse
Show packages that depend on the named package.
-s, --sync
Read package data from sync databases instead of local database.
-u, --unique
List dependent packages once. Implies --linear.
--config <file>
Specify an alternate pacman configuration file.

See Also

pacman(8), pacman.conf(5), makepkg(8)

See the pacman website at https://www.archlinux.org/pacman/ for current information on pacman and its related tools.


Bugs? You must be kidding; there are no bugs in this software. But if we happen to be wrong, send us an email with as much detail as possible to pacman-dev@archlinux.org.


Current maintainers:

· Allan McRae <allan@archlinux.org>

· Andrew Gregory <andrew.gregory.8@gmail.com>

· Dan McGee <dan@archlinux.org>

· Dave Reisner <dreisner@archlinux.org>

Past major contributors:

· Judd Vinet <jvinet@zeroflux.org>

· Aurelien Foret <aurelien@archlinux.org>

· Aaron Griffin <aaron@archlinux.org>

· Xavier Chantry <shiningxc@gmail.com>

· Nagy Gabor <ngaba@bibl.u-szeged.hu>

For additional contributors, use git shortlog -s on the pacman.git repository.


Explore man page connections for pactree(8).