ws_release - Man Page

release a workspace directory and free the workspace name

Synopsis

ws_release [-h] [-F filesystem] NAME

Description

Release the workspace NAME for the calling user. This command will make the workspace data unavailable to the user, and make NAME usable for a new workspace

The idea of the workspace is to allow the administrator to keep control of filespace in working filesystems, and to avoid the situations that data of past and finished projects/jobs is idling for ever on disks. A user can create and dispose arbitrary number of workspaces, they are cheap, and can be created e.g. for each job.

From the system side, workspaces will be deleted after beeing expired. A friendly user can release workspaces before the expiration date using ws_release which will mark the workspace for deletion and make the data unavailable.

Deletion is probably a task done once a night and not immediately. Data left in workspaces after releasing them therefore still accounts for disk quota if enabled by the administrator. If the user is short on available quota it makes sense to manually remove the content inside the workspace directory using rm before releasing the workspace.

If a workspace was forgotten and expired or released in error, it might make sense to contact the administrator, as he probaly can restore a workspace for some time, if disk space is not low.

Options

-h

display usage help text

-F

select the filesystem to release the workspace from, there is always a default for this. See ws_list -l for a list of available filesystems.

--userworkspace

for root only: release a users workspace, with the id as seen in ws_list.

Examples

release a workspace:

ws_release myworkspace

Author

Written by Holger Berger

See Also

ws_allocate, ws_list, ws_find, ws_restore

Info

March 2013 USER COMMANDS