wifi-radar man page

WiFi Radar — utility for managing WiFi profiles

Synopsis

wifi-radar [OPTION]...

Description

WiFi Radar is a PyGTK2 utility for managing WiFi profiles.

It will look for the config file in /etc/wifi-radar/wifi-radar.conf. You can change that in wifi-radar.

If the configuration file does not exist, it will create it, so you must always run it within a correctly permitted account (as root or use sudo or pam).

Recent versions partially implement WPA-TKIP with wpa_supplicant. You need a running wpa_supplicant installation with a /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file. Then by setting in your /etc/wifi-radar/wifi-radar.conf file the "use_wpa = yes" option and "wpa_driver = ipw" for example, wpa_supplicant will be launched when you connect using this profile.

But currently you can't set your wpa_supplicant options like the psk, proto, key_mgmt etc. using wifi-radar. Your wpa_supplicant configuration file should be set and tested already. If you have different networks set in wpa_supplicant.conf, then you can switch using wifi-radar.

The wifi-radar script accepts the following command-line options:

Options

-v, --version
for printing the version.

Files

/etc/wifi-radar/wifi-radar.conf
See for more information.

Bugs

Probably lots!

Because of repeated scanning, WiFi Radar is very power consuming.

Please report bugs to the mailing list <https://lists.anl.gov/mailman/listinfo/…>

More Information

The GIT repository is available at https://git.tuxfamily.org/wifi-radar/wi…

If you have questions, visit http://wifi-radar.tuxfamily.org

Author

This Python program was originally written by Ahmad Baitaimal <ahmad@bitbuilder.com>. It has been maintained at various times by Brian Elliott Finley <brian@thefinleys.com> and Sean Robinson <robinson@tuxfamily.org>. Contributions have been provided by:

·
Douglas Breault <genkreton@comcast.net>
·
Nicolas Brouard <nicolas.brouard@libertysurf.fr>
·
Gary Case <gcase@redhat.com>
·
Jon Collette <jonc@etelos.com>
·
David Decotigny <com.d2@free.fr>
·
Simon Gerber <gesimu@gmail.com>
·
Joey Hurst <jhurst@lucubrate.org>
·
Ante Karamatic <ivoks@ubuntu.com>
·
Richard Monk <rmonk@redhat.com>
·
Kevin Otte <kotte@redhat.com>
·
Nathanael Rebsch <nathanael@dihedral.de>
·
Andrea Scarpino <andrea@archlinux.org>
·
Patrick Winnertz <winnie@debian.org>

See Also

wifi-radar.conf(5) wpa_supplicant(8)

Referenced By

wifi-radar.conf(5).

July 2009 WiFi Radar 2.0