lscp man page

lscp — list NILFS2 checkpoints


lscp [options] [device]


lscp is a utility for displaying checkpoints or snapshots of the NILFS2 file system found in device. When device is omitted, /proc/mounts is examined to find a NILFS2 file system.

This command will fail if the device has no active mounts of a NILFS2 file system.


-a, --all
Do not hide minor checkpoints.
-b, --show-block-count
Show number of used blocks instead of appended blocks. This is the default mode.
-g, --show-increment
Show number of appended blocks instead of used blocks.
-r, --reverse
Reverse order.
-s, --snapshot
List only snapshots.
-i index, --index=index
Skip index checkpoints (or snapshots) at start of input.
-n lines, --lines=lines
List only lines input checkpoints (or snapshots).
-h, --help
Display help message and exit.
-V, --version
Display version and exit.

Field Description

Every line of the lscp output consists of the following seven fields:

Checkpoint number.
Creation date.
Creation time.
Mode of the checkpoint; cp for a plain checkpoint, and ss for a snapshot.
Flags on the checkpoint. At present, character “i” is printed in the field if the checkpoint was created only by garbage collection, checkpoint mode change, or other change of internal state. Otherwise “-” is printed.
NBLKINC (optional)
Number of blocks appended by the checkpoint. This field is displayed instead of BLKCNT field when -g option is specified.
Number of blocks used by the checkpoint.
Number of inodes included in the entire file system at the time specified by the checkpoint.


NILFS2 in Linux kernel version 2.6.38 and earlier does not support the block count (BLKCNT) information.


Koji Sato


lscp is part of the nilfs-utils package and is available from

See Also

nilfs(8), mkcp(8), chcp(8), rmcp(8), nilfs-tune(8).

Referenced By

chcp(8), mkcp(8), mount.nilfs2(8), nilfs(8), nilfs-tune(8), rmcp(8).

Apr 2014 nilfs-utils version 2.2