icedtea-web man page

icedtea-web provides a Free Software web browser plugin running applets written in the Java programming language and an implementation of Java Web Start, originally based on the NetX project.

NetX allows Java applets and applications to be downloaded over the network, cached, and (by default) run in a secure sandbox environment. Subsequent runs of the applet download the latest version automatically. Update and security settings, among others, can be set using the itw-settings command.
icedtea-web also includes a plugin to enable Java applets (http://www.java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp) within web browsers.

Names and email addresses of contributors to this project can be found in the file AUTHORS in the IcedTea-Web root directory.

The full GPLv2 license of this project can be found in the file COPYING in the IcedTea-Web root directory.

News about releases of this project can be found in the file NEWS in the IcedTea-Web root directory.

Description

NetX features:

Modular

Easily add JNLP capabilities to an application.

Saves Memory

Launch programs in a shared JVM.

Fast startup

Runs applications from a cache for fast starting.

Security

Run any application in a sandbox or log its activities.

Auto-Update

Applications can auto-update without special code.

Network Deployment

Deploy to the internet, not with installers.

Open Source

GNU Lesser General Public License.

Visit the IcedTea project wiki (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/Main_Page) or specifically the IcedTea-Web home (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web) pages for more information.
Help with common issues with IcedTea-Web can be found here (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web#Common_Issues) .

Contributing:

A QuickStart (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/DeveloperQuickStart) guide for the IcedTea project is available on the wiki.

Code style (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web#Code_style) guidelines and Eclipse setup (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web/DevelopingWithEclipse) instructions for IcedTea-Web are available as well. Patches should be accompanied by unit tests and reproducers (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/Reproducers) before being sent to the mailing list (http://mail.openjdk.java.net/mailman/listinfo/distro-pkg-dev)

Bugs

There aren't any known bugs. If you come across one, please file it at:
http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web#Filing_bugs
http://icedtea.classpath.org/bugzilla

Please run in debug (-verbose switch or itw-settings setting or ICEDTEAPLUGIN_DEBUG variable set to true) mode and include that output (best is from java console) with URL to jnlp or html file (or the jnlp/html file or  application itself) when filing out the bug report.

Author

The following people have made contibutions to this project.
Please keep this list in alphabetical order.
Lillian Angel <langel@redhat.com>Andrew Azores <aazores@redhat.com>Deepak Bhole <dbhole@redhat.com>Adam Buchta <adbuch7@gmail.com>Ricardo Martín Camarero <rickyepoderi@yahoo.es>Marcin Cieslak <marcin.cieslak@gmail.com>Danesh Dadachanji <ddadacha@redhat.com>Adam Domurad <adomurad@redhat.com>Lukasz Dracz <ldracz@redhat.com>Thomas Fitzsimmons <fitzsim@redhat.com>Michał Górny <mgorny@gentoo.org>Mark Greenwood <mark@dcs.shef.ac.uk>Tereza Hlavackova <hlavackova.tereza@gmail.com>Peter Hatina <phatina@redhat.com>Andrew John Hughes <ahughes@redhat.com>Jie Kang <jkang@redhat.com>Alex Kashchenko <akashche@redhat.com>Matthias Klose <doko@ubuntu.com>Alexandr Kolouch <skolnag@gmail.com>Jan Kmetko <jan.kmetko.ml@gmail.com>Francis Kung <fkung@redhat.com>Denis Lila <dlila@redhat.com>DJ Lucas <dj@lucasit.com>Omair Majid <omajid@redhat.com>Jon A. Maxwell <jmaxwell@users.sourceforge.net>Thomas Meyer <thomas@m3y3r.de>Kurt Miller <kurt@intricatesoftware.com>Saad Mohammad <smohammad@redhat.com>Martin Olsson  <martin@minimum.se>Stefan Ring  <stefan@complang.tuwien.ac.at>Ville Skyttä <ville.skytta@iki.fi>Fridrich Strba <fridrich.strba@suse.com>Andrew Su <asu@redhat.com>Joshua Sumali <jsumali@redhat.com>Michal Vala <mvala@redhat.com>Jiri Vanek <jvanek@redhat.com>Tomáš Votava <tomcacolca@gmail.com>Mark Wielaard <mark@klomp.org>Jacob Wisor  <gitne@excite.co.jp>Man Lung Wong <mwong@redhat.com>
This project also includes code from the following projects:
OpenJDK <http://openjdk.java.net/>
Netx <http://jnlp.sourceforge.net/netx/>

See Also

icedtea-web(1) javaws(1) icedtea-web-plugin(1) itweb-settings(1) policyeditor(1) policytool(1) java(1)

http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web
http://icedtea.classpath.org/hg/icedtea-web

Referenced By

icedtea-web-plugin(1), itweb-settings(1), javaws.itweb(1), policyeditor(1).

3 Nov 2017 icedtea-web (fedora-6.fc28-noarch)