gammaray man page

GammaRay — Qt-application inspection and manipulation tool.

Synopsis

gammaray [--pid <pid> | <application> <args> | --connect <host>[:<port>]

Description

GammaRay inspects runtime internals of a Qt-application, such as:
   Object tree, properties, signal/slots, widgets, models,
   graphics views, javascript debugger, resources,
   state machines, meta types, fonts, codecs, text documents

When run without any options, gammaray will present a list of running Qt-applications from which you can attach the selected injector. Else, you can attach to a running process by specifying its pid, or you can start a new Qt-application by specifying its name (and optional arguments).

Options

--help

Print help message and exit.

--version

Print version information and exit.

-p, --pid <pid>

Attach to running Qt application with the specified pid.

-i, --injector <injector>

Set the specified injection type.

Supported injectors are:
    preload (Linux, Mac OS)
    gdb (Linux. requires gdb to be installed)
    lldb (Linux. Mac OS, requires lldb to be installed)
    style
    windll (Windows)

--inprocess

Use the Gammaray 1.x in-process UI. This is not necessary in most cases, apart from using tools that do not work remotely.

--inject-only

This will only inject the GammaRay probe into a process, but not start the GammaRay UI. This is useful for example when doing remote debugging on embedded devices.

--listen <address>

Specify on which network address the GammaRay server should listen, default is GAMMARAY_DEFAULT_ANY_TCP_URL (ie. tcp://0.0.0.0, all of ipv4, use tcp://[::] for all ipv6). This can be used for example on Windows to avoid firewall warnings by setting the address to 127.0.0.1 if you don't need remote access.

--no-listen

Disables the GammaRay server. This implies --inprocess as there is no other way to connect to the GammaRay probe in this case.

--list-probes

List all installed probes.

--probe <abi>

Explicitly specify which probe to use. You should use this if you have more than one probe installed (e.g. one for Qt4 and one for Qt5), until probe ABI auto-detection is implemented.

--connect <host[:port]>

Connect to a target with an already injected GammaRay probe. Useful for example for remote debugging.

--self-test [injector]

Run GammaRay self-tests, if an injector is specified only that specific one will be tested.

The exit code is 0 on success, and 1 otherwise.

Examples

Run gammaray on the Qt-application "qtfoo" with command line arguments 'arg1' and 'arg2':
 % gammaray /path/to/qtfoo arg1 arg2
Invoke gammaray on the Qt-application running with pid 1234:
 % gammaray --pid 1234
Invoke gammaray on with injector gdb on Qt-application running with pid 1234:
 % gammaray --injector gdb --pid 1234

Exit Status

Exits with 0 under normal operation; otherwise, exists with a positive integer indicating a problem occurred while launching or attaching an injector.

Authors

 Allen Winter <allen.winter@kdab.com>
 Andreas Holzammer <andreas.holzammer@kdab.com>
 Anton Kreuzkamp <anton.kreuzkamp@kdab.com>
 BogDan Vatra <bogdan.vatra@kdab.com>
 Dan Vratil <dvratil@redhat.com>
 David Faure <david.faure@kdab.com>
 Filipe Azevedo <filipe.azevedo@kdab.com>
 Frank Osterfeld <frank.osterfeld@kdab.com>
 James Turner <james.turner@kdab.com>
 Jan Dalheimer <jan.dalheimer@kdab.com>
 Kevin Funk <kevin.funk@kdab.com>
 Laurent Montel <laurent.montel@kdab.com>
 Mathias Hasselmann <mathias.hasselmann@kdab.com>
 Milian Wolff <milian.wolff@kdab.com>
 Nicolas Arnaud-Cormos <nicolas.arnaud-cormos@kdab.com>
 Patrick Spendrin <patrick.spendrin@kdab.com>
 Peter Kuemmel <syntheticpp@gmx.net>
 Rafael Roquetto <rafael.roquetto@kdab.com>
 Sergio Martins <sergio.martins@kdab.com>
 Stephen Kelly <stephen.kelly@kdab.com>
 Thomas McGuire <thomas.mcguire@kdab.com>
 Till Adam <till.adam@kdab.com>
 Tobias Koenig <tobias.koenig@kdab.com>
 Volker Krause <volker.krause@kdab.com>

Info

2017-09-05 2.8.1 KDAB