dumpasn1 man page

dumpasn1 — ASN.1 object dump/syntax check program


/usr/bin/dumpasn1 [options] file


An ASN.1 object dump program which will dump data encoded using any of the ASN.1 encoding rules in a variety of user-specified formats.


Take input from stdin (some options may not work properly).
Start number bytes into the file.
End of arg list.
Print all data in long data blocks, not just the first 128 bytes.
-c file
Read Object Identifier info from alternate config file (values will override equivalents in global config file)
Print dots to show column alignment.
Don't print encapsulated data inside OCTET/BIT STRINGs.
-f file
Dump object at offset -number to file (allows data to be extracted from encapsulating objects)
Hex dump object header (tag+length) before the decoded output
Same as -h but display more of the object as hex data.
Long format, display extra info about Object Identifiers.
Don't check validity of character strings hidden in octet strings.
Pure ASN.1 output without encoding information.
Print bits in BIT STRING as encoded in reverse order
Syntax check only, don't dump ASN.1 structures.
Display text values next to hex dump of data.
Don't format UTCTime/GeneralizedTime string data.
Display size and offset in hex not decimal.


./dumpasn1.cfg, $HOME/.dumpasn1.cfg, /etc/dumpasn1/dumpasn1.cfg: This is the configuration file, it will be searched in this order. It contains OIDs commonly used.


qoute from Peter Gutmann:

ASN.1 object dumping code, copyright Peter Gutmann <pgut001@cs.auckland.ac.nz>, based on ASN.1 dump program by David Kemp <dpkemp@missi.ncsc.mil>, with contributions from various people including Matthew Hamrick <hamrick@rsa.com>, Bruno Couillard <bcouillard@chrysalis-its.com>, Hallvard Furuseth <h.b.furuseth@usit.uio.no>, Geoff Thorpe <geoff@raas.co.nz>, David Boyce <d.boyce@isode.com>, John Hughes <john.hughes@entegrity.com>, Life is hard, and then you die <ronald@trustpoint.com>, Hans-Olof Hermansson <hans-olof.hermansson@postnet.se>, Tor Rustad <Tor.Rustad@bbs.no>, Kjetil Barvik <kjetil.barvik@bbs.no>, James Sweeny <jsweeny@us.ibm.com>, and several other people whose names I've misplaced.

dumpasn1 is available at http://www.cs.auckland.ac.nz/~pgut001/


This man page was written using xml2man(1) by Oliver Kurth for Debian.

Referenced By


Explore man page connections for dumpasn1(1).