dumpasn1 man page

dumpasn1 — ASN.1 object dump/syntax check program

Synopsis

/usr/bin/dumpasn1 [options] file

Description

An ASN.1 object dump program which will dump data encoded using any of the ASN.1 encoding rules in a variety of user-specified formats.

Options

-
Take input from stdin (some options may not work properly).
-number
Start number bytes into the file.
--
End of arg list.
-a
Print all data in long data blocks, not just the first 128 bytes.
-c file
Read Object Identifier info from alternate config file (values will override equivalents in global config file)
-d
Print dots to show column alignment.
-e
Don't print encapsulated data inside OCTET/BIT STRINGs.
-f file
Dump object at offset -number to file (allows data to be extracted from encapsulating objects)
-h
Hex dump object header (tag+length) before the decoded output
-hh
Same as -h but display more of the object as hex data.
-l
Long format, display extra info about Object Identifiers.
-o
Don't check validity of character strings hidden in octet strings.
-p
Pure ASN.1 output without encoding information.
-r
Print bits in BIT STRING as encoded in reverse order
-s
Syntax check only, don't dump ASN.1 structures.
-t
Display text values next to hex dump of data.
-u
Don't format UTCTime/GeneralizedTime string data.
-x
Display size and offset in hex not decimal.

Files

./dumpasn1.cfg, $HOME/.dumpasn1.cfg, /etc/dumpasn1/dumpasn1.cfg: This is the configuration file, it will be searched in this order. It contains OIDs commonly used.

Authors

qoute from Peter Gutmann:

ASN.1 object dumping code, copyright Peter Gutmann <pgut001@cs.auckland.ac.nz>, based on ASN.1 dump program by David Kemp <dpkemp@missi.ncsc.mil>, with contributions from various people including Matthew Hamrick <hamrick@rsa.com>, Bruno Couillard <bcouillard@chrysalis-its.com>, Hallvard Furuseth <h.b.furuseth@usit.uio.no>, Geoff Thorpe <geoff@raas.co.nz>, David Boyce <d.boyce@isode.com>, John Hughes <john.hughes@entegrity.com>, Life is hard, and then you die <ronald@trustpoint.com>, Hans-Olof Hermansson <hans-olof.hermansson@postnet.se>, Tor Rustad <Tor.Rustad@bbs.no>, Kjetil Barvik <kjetil.barvik@bbs.no>, James Sweeny <jsweeny@us.ibm.com>, and several other people whose names I've misplaced.

dumpasn1 is available at http://www.cs.auckland.ac.nz/~pgut001/

Comments

This man page was written using xml2man(1) by Oliver Kurth for Debian.

Referenced By

gdcmanon(1).

User Manuals